Can you counter a creature with protection from blue?

Contents show

For example, a creature with protection from blue cannot be blocked by blue creatures, dealt damage by blue creatures, or enchanted, damaged, or otherwise affected by blue cards. Damage done by such a creature cannot be prevented using blue cards.

Can you block a creature that has protection from your color?

A creature with protection from a color “can’t be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything” of that color. Now that’s a mouthful! Let’s go through those cases one by one. Can’t be Blocked: A creature with protection from X can’t be blocked by creatures with X quality.

Can you counter something with protection?

Something with protection can still be countered. Something with “can’t be countered” can still be targeted. Abilities of permanent cards normally only work when the object is on the battlefield [CR 112.6]. But you can’t counter something on the battlefield.

Can you block with a creature that has protection from creatures?

MTG Protection Rules

“Protection”. If a creature has protection from a particular [quality] like white or dragons, you cannot use that something to block the creature. Similarly, you can’t use [quality] spells or [quality] to target that creature. It’s immune to all damage dealt by a [quality] source.

How does protection from a color work?

Protection from a color means that the target creature can’t be blocked by creatures of that color, can’t be the target of spells of that color or abilities from sources of that color, can’t be enchanted or equipped by Auras or Equipment of that color, and all damage that sources of that color would deal to it is …

What does protection from blue mean?

A creature with protection from one or more colors of magic cannot be affected by any magic of those colors. For example, a creature with protection from blue cannot be blocked by blue creatures, dealt damage by blue creatures, or enchanted, damaged, or otherwise affected by blue cards.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What type of baseball bat is best for self defense?

Does protection from all colors protect from colorless?

No. Colorless is not a color. If you have to choose a color, you can’t choose colorless.

Does protection from a color prevent trample damage?

Protection from a color prevents all damage assigned to a creature. Since during the damage assignment, the attacker only needs to assign lethal damage to the creature before being able to assign trample damage to you.

Does protection from white stop wrath of God?

Anger of the Gods does damage, which is prevented by protection. Wrath of God does not do any of the four things on the list, so it is unaffected. Just to be clear on this, when they say unaffected, they mean Wrath of God is unaffected. A creature with protection from white will be destroyed by Wrath of God.

Can I target a creature with protection?

Targeting. If a player or permanent has protection, we can’t target it with anything it has protection from. For example, if we want to kill our opponent’s Animar, Soul of Elements, we can’t use a Doom Blade or a Shriekmaw because Animar has protection from black.

Does trample go over protection?

As it turns out (and possibly counterintuitively), trample does go through protection. The point is that the attacker must assign lethal damage to the defending creature, and then they are free to assign the rest to the player.

Does protection from creatures stop damage?

First of all, it can’t be blocked by any creature, as a creature can’t block a creature with protection from it. In the case that a creature gains protection after blockers are declared, the creature will protection will not receive any damage.

Does shroud protect from board wipes?

Board wipes can kill shroud creatures.

Board wipes don’t target creatures but rather destroy or otherwise remove all creatures at once without targeting any of them.

What does Hexproof protect against?

Hexproof is an evergreen keyword ability that prevents a permanent or player from being the target of spells or abilities played by opponents.

Does Ward protect against board wipes?

Simply put, ward has no effect on board wipes. Since board wipes don’t target any creatures, they do not cause ward to trigger.

What does protection from multicolored mean?

Multicolor means (a) cards with two or more different mana symbols in their mana cost, including hybrid mana, or (b) cards with a color indicator and more than one color in it, like Garruk, the Veil-Cursed. Therefore, that’s all “protection from multicolored” protects against.

Can you choose colorless as a color?

Colorless is not a Color. 105.2c A colorless object has no color. 105.4. If a player is asked to choose a color, they must choose one of the five colors.

How do you prevent board wipes?

Creatures that can return themselves from the graveyard to hand or battlefield can keep you from ever running out of creatures. Exiling wraths dodge this technique as well.

  1. Don’t overextend.
  2. Play creatures that are effective against sweepers.
  3. Play non-creature threats.
  4. Play recursive creatures.

Does Cyclonic Rift work on Shroud?

Wrath of God can destroy creatures with Hexproof or Shroud because it does not contain the word “target”. Cyclonic Rift is normally targeted, but if it was cast for the Overload cost, then the word “target” is replaced with the word “each”, so the spell as it exists on the stack doesn’t contain the word “target”.

Can two creatures with protection block?

No. If two creatures have protection from each other, they still cannot block each other or bypass each others’ protection. If a creature has protection from red, that means only that it can’t be DEBT: D ealt damage by red sources.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I protect my property from my partner?

Does Deathtouch negate trample MTG?

All damage is resolved. This includes the damage dealt to and by Deadly Recluse, and the trample damage to you.

Does Hexproof protect from wrath of God?

Hexproof prevents you from targetting it. If you use [[wrath of god]] it will destroy all hexproof creatures but [[murder]] can’t.

Can you block Progenitus?

“Protection from everything” means the following: Progenitus can’t be blocked, Progenitus can’t be enchanted or equipped, Progenitus can’t be the target of spells or abilities, and all damage that would be dealt to Progenitus is prevented.

How does First Strike and Deathtouch work together?

The addition of deathtouch means that lethal damage is 1 damage for any creature, including indestructible and regenerated creatures. This means with a 2/2 first strike deathtouch creature, you can assign lethal damage to the first 2 creatures in the order you declared.

Does Deathtouch work with non combat damage?

Deathtouch applies; Lifelink applies; everything that applies to a creature dealing non-combat damage applies to this.

Does protection apply on the stack?

NO, you cannot.

Does Lifelink work blocking?

Blocking with a creature that has protection from the creature with lifelink. Blocking with a creature and sacrificing it before the combat damage step. (However, if the attacking creature has both lifelink and trample, you’ll still take the damage and your opponent will still gain the life.)

Does double strike include first strike?

* Double strike isn’t first strike. Effects that make a creature lose first strike won’t make it lose double strike. * Creatures with double strike and creatures with first strike deal combat damage in the first combat damage step.

Can Progenitus be exiled?

You cannot exile Progenitus or True-Name Nemesis. “Protection from everything” has a specific meaning in the rules: 702.16j “Protection from everything” is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from everything has protection from each object regardless of that object’s characteristic values.

Can Progenitus be a commander?

Progenitus is a possible choice for a Commander, and it has its own overlapping replacement effect: If Progenitus would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, reveal Progenitus and shuffle it into its owner’s library instead.

Does destroy all creatures work on Hexproof?

Yes, cards with “destroy all …” don’t target the permanents they affect, so Hexproof does not protect them from being destroyed. Generally speaking, if the word ‘target’ doesn’t appear on the card, the spell or ability isn’t targeting.

Is shroud a Hexproof?

Hexproof is the ‘fixed’ version of Shroud that does what players assumed Shroud did. Another static keyword ability, Hexproof means nobody but the permanent’s controller can target it with a spell or ability. Unlike Shroud, you are free to target your own things, but nobody else can.

Does protection from a color prevent blocking?

A creature with protection from a color “can’t be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything” of that color.

Does protection protect against sacrifice?

Protection and Sacrifice

While protection saves a creature from damage, enchanting, being blocked, or being targeted, protection can’t save a creature from being sacrificed. An opponent chooses a creature to sacrifice, so this isn’t actually a targeted ability.

Do Planeswalkers have summoning sickness?

As a general rule, Planeswalkers do not have summoning sickness. Planeswalkers are able to activate their abilities on the same turn they are played in Magic The Gathering. Some Planeswalkers have the ability to become creatures which will make them subject to summoning sickness.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is it important to protect company data?

How do you destroy indestructible MTG?

Indestructible permanents can still be put into their owner’s graveyard by other means, such as by the “legend rule”, by being sacrificed or (in the case of creatures) having zero or less toughness. They can also be removed from the battlefield by being bounced or exiled for example.

Is Ward replacing Hexproof?

Don’t worry though, Ward won’t actually be replacing Hexproof, it’s just another weapon in Wizards’ arsenal to make Magic even more interesting.

Does Ward work against Planeswalkers?

Does Ward Work Against Planeswalker Abilities? Ward does work against planeswalker abilities. Just like with shroud and hexproof, anything that targets the permanent with ward has to pay the tax or it’s countered.

Can you block with a creature that has protection from creatures?

MTG Protection Rules

“Protection”. If a creature has protection from a particular [quality] like white or dragons, you cannot use that something to block the creature. Similarly, you can’t use [quality] spells or [quality] to target that creature. It’s immune to all damage dealt by a [quality] source.

Does protection from all colors include colorless?

No. Colorless is not a color. If you have to choose a color, you can’t choose colorless. You have to pick white, blue, black, red, or green.

Does protection from white stop wrath of God?

Anger of the Gods does damage, which is prevented by protection. Wrath of God does not do any of the four things on the list, so it is unaffected. Just to be clear on this, when they say unaffected, they mean Wrath of God is unaffected. A creature with protection from white will be destroyed by Wrath of God.

How does protection from a color work?

Protection from a color means that the target creature can’t be blocked by creatures of that color, can’t be the target of spells of that color or abilities from sources of that color, can’t be enchanted or equipped by Auras or Equipment of that color, and all damage that sources of that color would deal to it is …

Do colorless cards share a color?

An object with no color is colorless. Colorless is not a color. See rule 105, “Colors,” and rule 202, “Mana Cost and Color.”

How many colorless Planeswalkers are there?

All 5 Colorless Planeswalkers in Magic Ranked.

Can you sacrifice Progenitus?

If one player plays Progenitus and then a player plays All is Dust, would progenitus have to be sacrificed or does the “protection from everything” prevent this? No it is not protected from that so it will be sacrificed.

Does indestructible prevent board wipes?

Most board wipes “destroy” creatures, so one way to protect your creatures (and permanents) is to buff them with the “indestructible”keyword.

Can you deflecting SWAT an overloaded Cyclonic Rift?

Cyclonic Rift isn’t deflected by Hexproof or Indestructible or even Protection from Blue – It’s one of the tougher to avoid boardwipes in the game, and has won many games. If you have a player who runs it in every Blue deck (probably a good idea.)

Does trample go through protection from colors?

As it turns out (and possibly counterintuitively), trample does go through protection. The point is that the attacker must assign lethal damage to the defending creature, and then they are free to assign the rest to the player.

What does Hexproof protect against?

Hexproof is an evergreen keyword ability that prevents a permanent or player from being the target of spells or abilities played by opponents.